Product Review: SONY Handycam HDR CX110

I’ve always liked shooting videos and editing my shots into fun and informational pieces, yet few of my previously owned devices had the proper quality I yearned for. About three months ago I decided it was time for an upgrade, I was moving from basic to intermediate. It might not seem like a big improvement but compared to my previous model, this HD Handycam was more than enough.

Being one of SONY’s ‘cheaper’ versions they really didn’t spare on perks in technical cool things like ExmorR (sensitivity) or Carl Zeiss lenses. The one thing which definitely needs improvement is the outside plastic ‘hull’ or cover. Prone to finger marks and easily scratched or shaken loose I wasn’t very impressed by the physical durability of the device. In contrast when inspecting battery usage I was very impressed, I could shoot 3 8GB cards to the max with HD footage on one charge and then it still had a few minutes left, I don’t think I’ve ever seen it flat. The data usage is comparable to many other cameras on the market. when shooting in AVCHD mode a 8GB card only lasts 45 minutes on the minute, but on standard or a lower HD setting you easily get well over 2 hours of footage on a 8GB card.

Many video camera brands claim their models to be HD but on closer inspection turns out to be a mere 720p, with this camera it’s not the case. at a full 1080p resolution you get amazing shots and stability even when zooming to the full 25x optical zoom (try to have a tri-pod for that though).

Overall I’m impressed by my purchase, and good news to people interested: The price has already dropped twice from the time I bought mine. So get out there or wait for the next model, but don’t let that awesome movie idea you have get lost.

R

Video Camera

SONY HDR CX110

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

